We’re off to the Bluegrass Festival this weekend.  In fact, we’re already there.  Sort of.  This morning we went to set up camp, but then Elijah and I had to come back into town so he could go to Cartooning class from 1 to 4 this afternoon.  We’ll be doing the same thing again tomorrow afternoon, coming back into St. Cloud for his Paramount Arts Center class (we have the best arts in St. Cloud!).  But other than that, we’re relaxin’, jammin’, dancin’ and just plain enjoyin’ a weekend of Old-time and Bluegrass music.  Last year, I wrote about the Minnesota old-Time and bluegrass music festival here on The Zahn Zone.

081408 002

Before I leave, I thought I’d post a few photos of what we’ve been up to this summer, besides painting and working on the house that is.  I’ve been away from blogging too long, I know!

stopping to smell the roses

stopping to smell the roses

George and I celebrated our 14th anniversary in June.

in the White Garden

in the White Garden

We had our simplest celebration ever–our favorite pizza and a stroll through the gorgeous Clemens Garden in St. Cloud.  It was really nice.

practicing before the show, the man himself

practicing before the show, the man himself

The whole family sat in the hot sun all day to see Garrison Keillor and his Prairie Home Companion Radio Show live in Avon, Minnesota on the 4th of July.  It was pretty good fun.

Anne's Outdoor Market in St. Joe

Anne's Outdoor Market in St. Joe

I’ve sold vintage aprons and some other old stuff a few times at this flea market.

fuzzy...I mean, that's the photo, not the horse's name

fuzzy...I mean, that's the photo, not the horse's name

The kids learned to groom and ride horses at horse camp at Hillcrest Stable.

horses, WW09, etc 012We went to an SCA camping event in Boscobel, Wisconsin–Warriors and Warlords! (for Elijah’s sake…)

horses, WW09, etc 037My mother and father-in-law came for a few days, from Virginia.

they're a little crazy!

they're a little crazy!

They had stopped in Chicago on the way and got these glasses for the kids.

Rose, Grandpa, Grandma and Eli

Rose, Grandpa, Grandma and Eli

We visited the White Garden with them, too.  Everyone has to go to the Gardens in St. Cloud!

July 032And then we took them to Duluth, to wave at the boats with us.

adirondack 001Now that it’s August, I’m hoping to do a lot of the above…

