Even though my kitchen’s having a re-do, and we’re not cooking much this week, I thought I’d post a recipe for y’all.  I tried this one last week, and George said “this is a keeper”, so I know it’s good.  Even my picky eater, Rose, liked it!

I’ve been buying chicken thighs because they’re cheap and they really have a lot of meat and taste good, though I’m traditionally a white meat lover.  I can buy “Smart Chicken”-brand thighs–not the best, but better than some brands–for $2 a pound, which is great.  We also buy whole, pasture-raised chickens from a local farmer, but when I want to cook something quick and/or easy, I use the thighs…The recipe:

Crock-pot Thai Chicken Thighs

1 t. ground ginger
1/2 t. salt
1/4 t. ground red pepper
6 bone-in chicken thighs (about 2 and 1/4 pounds), skin removed
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 of a can of canned coconut milk
1/4 c. peanut butter
2 T. soy sauce
1 T. corn starch
2 T. water
cilantro and lime wedges, optional

1.  Combine ginger, salt and red pepper; sprinkle over meaty sides of chicken.

2.  Place onion and garlic in slow cooker, top with chicken.

3.  Whisk together coconut milk, peanut butter and soy sauce; pour over chicken.

4.  Cover, cook on low 6-7 hours or high 3-4 hours (cooking times may be much less if your cooker runs hot).

5.  When chicken is tender and done, transfer it with a slotted spoon to a serving bowl; cover with foil.  Turn slow cooker to high.  Combine cornstarch and water until smooth; stir into slow cooker and cook about 15 minutes until thickened.

6.  Spoon sauce over chicken and serve with rice or couscous.  Top with cilantro and lime, if desired.

Try it; hope you enjoy it!

