Well, I shouldn’t say WAY before, because at least some painting work has been done in this basement room.  However, it is such a disaster area right now I’m embarrassed to show you today’s photos.

ew, don't look!

ew, don't look!

The project for this week is to completely declutter and organize this room.  George starts teaching summer private music lessons in our home one week from tomorrow, and we’ve decided this room will be his “studio” so there is a lot of work to do between now and next Tuesday.

I'm only showing you these so you will be impressed by the AFTER shots!

I'm only showing you these so you will be impressed by the AFTER shots!

Many of these toys will no longer be in our home.;-)

These built-ins are nice--what to put in them and what to keep out?

These built-ins are nice--what to put in them and what to keep out?

My craft supplies will find new homes either in our bedroom cabinets (my sewing machine has a nice spot in our bedroom right below a wall of cabinets that hold fabric and will hold yarn, etc. as well–sounds bad but it works), or they will be in the garage ready for our August neighborhood-wide garage sales.

boxes full of yarn and other junk

boxes full of yarn and other junk

This room will hold a loveseat, two Ikea-style chairs, and some shelving units for books, organized toys and TV/video games.  I’m thinking of adding a twin bed near the wall of cabinets and desk area, for guests or maybe to make this room a place for someone who needs to stay for a while (with the economy that could happen).  I also need to keep this play cabinet my grandpa built and would love to “feature it” somehow…

this was my mom and aunt's, then mine, now Rose's--made by Grandpa

this was my mom and aunt's, then mine, now Rose's--made by Grandpa

That messy closet will hold off-season coats, and boots, skates, skis, etc. in bins.  Right now George has files and musical scores in there, which is dangerous in the basement. 

horrors!

horrors!

As a space for instrumental music lessons, the room needs only seating for a parent and a couple of music stands.  It also needs to stay clean and decent (as does my laundry area on the way into the room).  I hate to send people to the basement, but it works in our house because students can enter into the side door and head right down the stairs for lessons.  It’s actually a fairly open basement so doesn’t feel like a dungeon heading down.   I can’t wait to get it looking nice!

And to make myself feel better, I’m posting this photo of a quick sewing project I did yesterday.  I have been needing a tea cozy for my red pot for so long.  When I saw some in a vintage shop on Saturday, I knew I could make one myself.  I mean, how hard could it be?  I’m not much of a seamstress, but I’m proud of myself for this!  I found the tutorial here at The Rusty Bobbin. 

made from a scrap of fabric I got in a box through Freecycle.org--cute

made from a scrap of fabric I got in a box through Freecycle.org--cute

Next week I’ll post “after” photos of the basement, so the pressure is on.  Then after this room, I’ll be working on the kitchen while George paints and finishes off our master bedroom.  It’s a whole summer of projects!  Thank goodness George is a teacher with summers off to get things done with me.

