I don’t want to write much today; it’s Sunday and all, but I thought I’d share some photos.  This is Billy (aka “The Blizzard”, aka “Trouble”)…

Billy, our Beagle/Terrier mix, 10 months old

Billy, our Beagle/Terrier mix, 10 months old

He’s saying “mom, I would never wreck your garden, would I?” and looking so sweet and innocent.  But I know better!  I’m praying heavily for the flowers and hosta in this little bed under the lilac, because it’s in his “zone” in the backyard…

Tiny plants waiting to grow big, hoping not to get eaten or stomped on...

Tiny plants waiting to grow big, hoping not to get eaten or stomped on...

I weeded and moved the hostas around, dividing some up into tiny “starts” (yes, one must be patient with perennials when one doesn’t have much money).  I planted some tiny little impatiens, too, that were super cheap (but not that good a deal it turns out.  I saw much nicer ones for not much more money at a nicer garden center.  Patience again!).  This space could use some mulch, or not–it’s easier to weed with a hoe when there’s no mulch, but then mulch keeps down the weeds.  I’m always divided on that point.  Usually I choose mulching my beds if I can get it free.  It keeps moisture in, too. 

the same little spot next to the back patio, impatiens and hostas under the lilac

the same little spot next to the back patio, impatiens and hostas under the lilac

  Here are some more photos, this time from the front yard gardens… 

boulevard irises

boulevard irises

our four front yard raised beds with my apple tree in the middle

our four front yard raised beds with my apple tree in the middle

This summer we’ll be doing some landscaping in the front yard to make these four squares blend in a little better.  Maybe some brick (or, more frugal, mulch) paths in between and around the squares.  I also hope to garden the entire front slope, planting perennials and roses.  Then there’s the climbing rose arbor I want across the sidewalk…

so far we only have two rose bushes, but daughter Rose is clamoring for more (and I hate to not indulge her...)

so far we only have two rose bushes, but daughter Rose is clamoring for more (and I hate to not indulge her...)

That’s a little taste of what’s going on in our gardens.  We have accomplished a lot this weekend, and my back is aching to show for it.  Tomorrow perhaps, photos of the backyard gardens.  And if you’re a new reader to this, my new blog, you still haven’t seen the hens.  Something to look forward to!

