George and I are starting to freak out a little bit.  Our home is on our neighborhood’s “Historic Home Tour” in September, and there are so many projects left to do.  The house doesn’t have to be perfect to be on the home tour, but of course we want to get it all done and have it be as close to perfect as we can get!

The bath tub was the ugliest thing in our house when we bought it

The bath tub was the ugliest thing in our house when we bought it

I thought I’d go through some before and afters of what we’ve already done, just to feel better about how far we’ve already come in the five years we’ve been here.  This house was in the best shape of any of the three we’ve owned, but there are still a lot of cosmetic touches we needed to add.

New tub and surround, much nicer to relax in!

New tub and surround, much nicer to relax in!

George does most of the work on our house, although the tub was a plumber job.  It killed him to watch those guys do it, too.  He would’ve done a better job (and in even less time).

I also hated this sink and vanity, not to mention the bright white paint with this green tile

I also hated this sink and vanity, not to mention bright white paint with green tile

Since the tile is in good shape and both the floor and wall tiles match (for the most part), we wanted to work with it in choosing a new paint color and fixtures.  I don’t love the green, but it’s okay.  I’m happy with how this has turned out…we matched the paint to the tile for the sake of “calm”.

We did the walls and the trim in the same green as the tiles, and it does make for a restful, natural feeling for the room

We painted the walls and the trim in the same green as the tiles, and it does make for a restful, natural feeling for the room

I struggled over the shower curtain and window curtain.  Finally for the window I used an antique dresser scarf I had stashed away; it goes with the rustic print/frame over the toilet.  And for the shower I took the hemp shower curtain I’d been using for the liner (it didn’t work well as a liner–got too moldy), washed it up well and am now using it as the outside, decorative curtain.  I really like it!  It matches our towels and again, gives a natural, restful feeling.

The tile next to the tub surround is finally done, and the shower curtain dilemma solved.

The tile next to the tub surround is finally done, and the shower curtain dilemma solved. The window curtain is a lace-edged dresser scarf hung on two nails, and I hang a tiny quilt on the bottom half of the window in winter to keep out drafts.

This bathroom is the only one in our four-square, Craftsman style home.  It was too bright before, with the glaring white paint and fixtures in a north-facing room.  I think it turned out very well for the little money we spent.  We did spend about $4000 on the tub, surround and some major plumbing repairs, but other than that we spent less than $400 on the rest.

