Some bills will need to be paid, and bank accounts checked (for that tax refund), and I’ll try to read email once a week, but otherwise I’m giving this modern time-suck up for Lent.  Which begins tomorrow, February 17 and goes all the way until Easter Sunday (what day is that?).  April 4.  I’m expecting some major withdrawal symptoms for a week or so, and then quiet.  Quiet.  Quiet.  Quiet.  A think thing (Freudian slip, there) I used to have.

Quiet is a thing I used to be able to deal with.  Long stretches of quiet.  But in the last few years, I’ve noticed I’ve gotten as uncomfortable with quiet as the rest of America seems to be.  And I don’t like that.  I want my silence back.  I want my time back.  So, as much as I love my laptop, I’m going to try and find the silence again.  The long stretches of reading, or thinking, knitting, sewing, or just watching the kids at play.

So, for the next 40 days, please call me on the telephone.  Or email me but don’t expect a reply quickly.  And if you need to get a hold of me and don’t have my phone number, I’ll bet you can Google it.

Happy Lent!

